Venetian Contract - Marina Fiorato (Paperback)

Dispatched in 20 to 30 working days
Price
243
No reviews yet.
Raru User Review Competition: Write a Review and Win! 1 x R500 Raru Voucher up for grabs every month! Details...

Description

Like her bestselling THE GLASSBLOWER OF MURANO, this fifth unforgettable historical love story from Marina Fiorato is set in Venice. For fans of Philippa Gregory, Sarah Dunant and Alison Weir.

Product Details

Barcode
9781848545670
Department
Books
Released
16 Aug 2012
Supply Source
UK

Book

Author
Marina Fiorato
Binding
Paperback
Publisher
John Murray General Publishing Division
Language
English
Number of Pages
416
Dimensions
153 x 197 x 26mm (262g)

Summary

Like her bestselling THE GLASSBLOWER OF MURANO, Marina Fiorato's fifth unforgettable historical love story is set in Venice. For fans of Philippa Gregory, Sarah Dunant and Alison Weir.

1576. Five years after the defeat of the Ottoman Empire at the Battle of Lepanto, a ship steals unnoticed into Venice bearing a deadly cargo. A man more dead than alive, disembarks and staggers into Piazza San Marco. He brings a gift to Venice from Constantinople. Within days the city is infected with bubonic plague - and the Turkish Sultan has his revenge.

But the ship also holds a secret stowaway - Feyra, a young and beautiful harem doctor fleeing a future as the Sultan's concubine. Only her wits and medical knowledge keep her alive as the plague ravages Venice. In despair the Doge commissions the architect Andrea Palladio to build the greatest church of his career - an offering to God so magnificent that Venice will be saved. But Palladio's own life is in danger too, and it will require all skills of medico Annibale Cason, the city's finest plague doctor, to keep him alive.

But what Annibale had not counted on was meeting Feyra, who is now under Palladio's protection, a woman who can not only match his medical skills but can also teach him how to care.

Fiction

General Subject
Saga/Historical
BISAC Subject 1
Fiction / Historical
BIC Classification 1
Historical fiction
Dewey Classification
823.92
Readership
General (US: Trade)

Author Bio

Marina Fiorato is half-Venetian. She was born in Manchester and raised in the Yorkshire Dales. She is a history graduate of Oxford University and the University of Venice, where she specialized in the study of Shakespeare's plays as an historical source. After university she studied art and since worked as an illustrator, actress and film reviewer. Marina was married on the Grand Canal and lives in north London with her husband, son and daughter. She is the author of five novels: The Glassblower of Murano, The Madonna of the Almonds, The Botticelli Secret, Daughter of Siena and The Venetian Contract. You can follow Marina on Twitter at @MarinaFiorato and find out more about her and her writing at www.marinafiorato.com.

Review Quotes

'A great holiday read with solid historical substance' * Historical Novels Review * 'A great read' * Best * 'Captures the scents, passion and vigour of Italy' * Books Quarterly * Praise for Marina Fiorato:

'Fiorato creates her own masterpiece' * Booklist * 'If you like historical fiction and/or medical dramas, you should really give this a try. Fiorato writes with a deft hand and creates a whirlwind world that is excitingly beautiful and uncertain' * http://bcfreviews.wordpress.com * 'I absolutely loved this story' * debrasbookcafe.blogspot.co.uk * '[Fiorato's] knowledge of the city and its history shines through on every page' * Choice Magazine *