Glassblower of Murano - Marina Fiorato (Paperback)

Out of Stock
Price
239
No reviews yet.
Raru User Review Competition: Write a Review and Win! 1 x R500 Raru Voucher up for grabs every month! Details...

Description

The bestselling first historical love story set in Venice from Marina Fiorato. For fans of Philippa Gregory, Sarah Dunant and Alison Weir.

Product Details

Barcode
9781848547940
Department
Books
Released
25 Oct 2012
Supply Source
UK

Book

Author
Marina Fiorato
Binding
Paperback
Publisher
John Murray General Publishing Division
Language
English
Number of Pages
368
Dimensions
198 x 151 x 28mm (300g)

Summary

The bestselling first historical love story set in Venice, from Marina Fiorato. For fans of Philippa Gregory, Sarah Dunant and Alison Weir.

1681. Glassblowing is the lifeblood of the Republic and Venetian mirrors are more precious than gold. Jealously guarded by the murderous Council of Ten, the glassblowers of Murano are virtually imprisoned on their island in the lagoon.

But the greatest artist of their number, Corradino Manin, sells his methods and his soul to the Sun King, Louise XIV of France, to protect his secret daughter . . . Centuries later his descendant, Nora Manin, escapes an unhappy life in London, determined to apprentice as a glassblower in the city of her ancestors. Passionate and gifted, her famous family name places her in danger within the ancient foundries when timeles rivalries rise to the surface. As she finds new life and love in Venice, Nora's fate becomes inextricably linked with that of Corradino as the treacherous secrets of his life come to light.

Fiction

General Subject
Fiction
BISAC Subject 1
Fiction / Romance / Suspense
BISAC Subject 2
Fiction / Historical
BISAC Subject 3
Fiction / Romance / Historical
BISAC Subject 4
Fiction / Medical
BISAC Subject 5
Fiction / Romance / General
BIC Classification 1
Historical fiction
Dewey Classification
823.92
Readership
General (US: Trade)

Author Bio

Marina Fiorato is half-Venetian. She was born in Manchester and raised in the Yorkshire Dales. She is a history graduate of Oxford University and the University of Venice. After university she studied art and has worked as an illustrator, actress and film reviewer. Marina was married on the Grand Canal and lives in north London with her husband, son and daughter. She is the author of five novels: The Glassblower of Murano, The Madonna of the Almonds, The Botticelli Secret, Daughter of Siena and The Venetian Contract. You can follow Marina on Twitter at @MarinaFiorato and find out more about her and her writing at www.marinafiorato.com.