The Crown's Game - Evelyn Skye (Hardcover)

Out of Stock
Price
372
No reviews yet.

Product Details

Barcode
9780062422583
Department
Books
Released
17 May 2016
Supply Source
UK

Book

Authors
Evelyn Skye
Joel Tippie (Illustrator)
Binding
Hardcover
Publisher
Harpercollins Childrens Books
Language
English
Number of Pages
400
Dimensions
210 x 140mm

Annotation

When the tsar of the Ottoman Empire demands the assistance of a wizard to fend off Kazakh invaders, the country's only two enchanters are forced to compete in a dual to the death in spite of their growing feelings for one another. Simultaneous eBook. 125,000 first printing.

Summary

"Gorgeous and richly imagined."&;Sara Raasch, New York Times bestselling author of the Snow Like Ashes series

"Teeming with hidden magic and fiery romance."&;Sabaa Tahir, #1 New York Times bestselling author of An Ember in the Ashes

Perfect for fans of Shadow and Bone and Red Queen, The Crown&;s Game is a thrilling and atmospheric historical fantasy set in Imperial Russia about two teenagers who must compete for the right to become the Imperial Enchanter&;or die in the process&;from debut author Evelyn Skye.

Vika Andreyeva can summon the snow and turn ash into gold. Nikolai Karimov can see through walls and conjure bridges out of thin air. They are enchanters&;the only two in Russia&;and with the Ottoman Empire and the Kazakhs threatening, the tsar needs a powerful enchanter by his side.

And so he initiates the Crown&;s Game, an ancient duel of magical skill&;the greatest test an enchanter will ever know.  The victor becomes the Imperial Enchanter and the tsar&;s most respected adviser. The defeated is sentenced to death.

Raised on tiny Ovchinin Island her whole life, Vika is eager for the chance to show off her talent in the grand capital of Saint Petersburg. But can she kill another enchanter&;even when his magic calls to her like nothing else ever has?

For Nikolai, an orphan, the Crown&;s Game is the chance of a lifetime. But his deadly opponent is a force to be reckoned with&;beautiful, whip smart, imaginative&;and he can&;t stop thinking about her.

And when Pasha, Nikolai&;s best friend and heir to the throne, also starts to fall for the mysterious enchantress, Nikolai must defeat the girl they both love . . . or be killed himself.

As long-buried secrets emerge, threatening the future of the empire, it becomes dangerously clear . . . the Crown&;s Game is not one to lose.

Juvenile Fiction

Inside Flap

Vika Andreyev can summon the snow and turn ash into gold.

Nikolai Karimov can see through walls and conjure bridges out of thin air.

They are enchanters&;the only two in Russia&;and with the Ottoman Empire and the Kazakhs threatening, the tsar needs a powerful enchanter by his side.

And so he initiates the Crown&;s Game, a duel of magical skill. The victor becomes the Imperial Enchanter and the tsar&;s most respected adviser. The defeated is sentenced to death.

Raised on tiny Ovchinin Island her whole life, Vika is eager for the chance to show off her talent in the grand capital of Saint Petersburg. But can she kill another enchanter&;even when his magic calls to her like nothing else ever has?

For Nikolai, an orphan, the Crown&;s Game is the chance of a lifetime. But his deadly opponent is a force to be reckoned with&;beautiful, whip-smart, imaginative&;and he can&;t stop thinking about her.

And when Pasha, Nikolai&;s best friend and heir to the throne, also starts to fall for the mysterious enchantress, Nikolai must defeat the girl they both love . . . or be killed himself.

As long-buried secrets emerge, threatening the future of the empire, it becomes dangerously clear&;the Crown&;s Game is not one to lose.

Author Bio

Skye, Evelyn: -

Evelyn Skye was once offered a job by the CIA, she not-so-secretly wishes she was on So You Think You Can Dance, and if you challenge her to a pizza-eating contest, she guarantees she will win. When she isn't writing, Evelyn can be found chasing her daughter on the playground or sitting on the couch immersed in a good book and eating way too many cookies. She is the author of the New York Times bestseller The Crown's Game and its sequel, The Crown's Fate. Evelyn can be found online at www.evelynskye.com and on Twitter @EvelynSkyeYA.