A Darkness Strange and Lovely - Susan Dennard (Paperback)

Dispatched in 20 to 30 working days
Price
231
No reviews yet.
Raru User Review Competition: Write a Review and Win! 1 x R500 Raru Voucher up for grabs every month! Details...

Product Details

Barcode
9780062083302
Department
Books
Released
24 Jun 2014
Supply Source
UK

Book

Author
Susan Dennard
Binding
Paperback
Publisher
Harpercollins Childrens Books
Edition
Reprint
Series
Something Strange and Deadly
Language
English
Number of Pages
432

Annotation

Eleanor Fitt flees to Europe to seek the help of the Spirit-Hunters after a villain from her past resurfaces, only to find that, in Paris, there's a new kind of evil lurking.

Summary

Perfect for fans of Libba Bray's The Diviners and Cassandra Clare's The Infernal Devices series, this spellbinding sequel to Something Strange and Deadly delivers a mix of supernatural forces and intense romance, set against the enchanting backdrop of nineteenth-century Paris.

With her brother dead and her mother insane, Eleanor Fitt is alone. Even the Spirit-Hunters&;Joseph, Jie, and the handsome Daniel&;have fled to Paris. So when Eleanor hears the vicious barking of hounds and sees haunting yellow eyes, she fears that the Dead, and the necromancer Marcus, are after her.

To escape, Eleanor boards a steamer bound for France. There she meets Oliver, a young man who claims to have known her brother. But Oliver harbors a dangerous secret involving necromancy and black magic that entices Eleanor beyond words. If she can resist him, she'll be fine. But when she arrives in Paris, she finds that the Dead have taken over, and there's a whole new evil lurking. And she is forced to make a deadly decision that will go against everything the Spirit-Hunters stand for.

In Paris, there's a price for this darkness strange and lovely, and it may have Eleanor paying with her life.

Juvenile Fiction

General Subject
Juvenile Grades 7-9 Ages 12-14
BISAC Subject 2
Juvenile Fiction / Horror & Ghost Stories
BISAC Subject 3
Juvenile Fiction / Love & Romance
Academic Subject 1
Teen's Fiction / Fantasy
Academic Subject 2
Teen's Fiction / Horror & Ghost Stories
Dewey Classification
FIC

Inside Flap

Darkness has come to the City of Light. . . .

After helping the Spirit-Hunters save Philadelphia from the walking Dead, Eleanor Fitt must now face the things she couldn't stop: her brother's death, her mother's deteriorating health, and the sting of unrequited love. But when she encounters the necromancer Marcus again, she must seek the help of Joseph, Jie, and the gorgeous Daniel&;who have all fled to Paris.

On her way to France, Eleanor meets Oliver, who claims to have known her brother. Though friendly, Oliver harbors a secret involving black magic that entices Eleanor. Trying to resist it, she rejoins the Spirit-Hunters in hopes of stopping Marcus.

But the Dead have taken over Paris, and there's a whole new evil lurking. Eleanor is now forced to make a dangerous decision&;and her choice could mean life or death for everyone.

Author Bio

Dennard, Susan: -

Susan Dennard is a writer turned marine biologist turned writer again. The Something Strange and Deadly trilogy is her debut. Among the traits she shares with her heroine Eleanor are a weakness for Shakespeare quotes, a healthy appetite for baked goods, and an insatiable curiosity. Sadly, Susan does not get to wear a corset or wave a parasol on a daily basis.