Sons of Thunder - Giles Kristian (Paperback)

Dispatched in 10 to 20 working days
Price
188
No reviews yet.
Raru 8th Birthday 8% Coupon Code RCC-HAPPY8 Site Wide Discount Valid until 5 June! T&Cs Apply.

Product Details

Barcode
9780345535085
Department
Books
Released
25 Sep 2012
Supply Source
UK

Book

Author
Giles Kristian
Subtitle
A Novel
Binding
Paperback
Publisher
Random House
Series
Raven
Language
English
Number of Pages
399
Dimensions
184 x 108 x 32mm (200g)

Annotation

  • Raven, along with his beloved, Cynethryth, leads his Vikings up a winding river into the heart of the Frankish Empire, plunging them into a battle of men and faiths.
  • Filled with brutal and bloody battles, this second installment in a adventure-filled trilogy is perfect for readers of James Rollins and Steve Berry. Original.

Summary

In the heart of the ninth century, ferocious men wielding swords and gleaming axes dare face a massive Crusader force. And in Giles Kristian&;s thrilling series, history comes alive as vividly as the crash of clashing steel.

The Norsemen have come across the Channel, up a winding river in the land of the great Frankish emperor. In the belly of their fearsome dragon ship, beneath warriors and weapons, is a book wrapped in cloth, guarded by an English monk who alone knows the true worth of his prize. And by the side of their leader is Raven, with a blood spot in his eye and magic in his soul. Accompanied by the woman he loves, Cynethryth, runaway daughter of an English king, Raven is plunging into an epic clash of men and faiths.

"A brilliant story, beautifully told.&;&;Sunday Express

&;Impressive &;world-building&; . . . The pace of the novel is unrelenting. . . . The series is among the best adventure historical fiction today.&;&;Fantasy Book Critic

&;An excellent read which compares favourably with writers like Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.&;&;Historical Novels Review

&;Gripping . . . splendidly conjures up the sounds, sights, and smells of Dark Age Britain.&;&;Harry Sidebottom, author of the Warrior of Rome series, on Raven: Blood Eye

Fiction

General Subject
Fiction
BISAC Subject 1
Fiction / Historical
BISAC Subject 2
Fiction / Action & Adventure
BISAC Subject 3
Fiction / Historical
BIC Classification 1
Historical fiction
BIC Classification 2
Historical fiction
Library Subject 1
Vikings; Fiction.
Library Subject 2
Adventure fiction
Library Subject 3
Imaginary wars and battles
Academic Subject 1
American Historical Fiction
Dewey Classification
823/.92

Author Bio

Having Viking ancestors himself, Giles Kristian believes that the story of Raven has always been in his blood--waiting, like the Norsemen, for the right time to burst upon the world. The Raven series has been published to great acclaim by Transworld in the UK. Giles Kristian currently lives in Leicestershire, where he writes full-time, though he enjoys nothing better than working in his family cottage that overlooks the mist-shrouded Norwegian fjords.

Review Quotes

"A brilliant story, beautifully told."--"Sunday Express"

"Impressive 'world-building' . . . The pace of the novel is unrelenting. . . . The series is among the best adventure historical fiction today."--Fantasy Book Critic

"An excellent read which compares favourably with writers like Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden."--Historical Novels Review

"Gripping . . . splendidly conjures up the sounds, sights, and smells of Dark Age Britain."--Harry Sidebottom, author of the Warrior of Rome series, on "Raven: Blood Eye"