Book Clubbed - Lorna Barrett (Hardcover)

Dispatched in 20 to 30 working days
Price
642
No reviews yet.

Product Details

Barcode
9780425252574
Department
Books
Released
1 Jul 2014
Supply Source
UK

Book

Author
Lorna Barrett
Binding
Hardcover
Publisher
Penguin Group USA
Series
Booktown Mysteries
Language
English
Number of Pages
320
Dimensions
203 x 130 x 1mm (1g)

Annotation

Bookstore owner Tricia and her sister, Angelica, try to determine who murdered an unpleasant receptionist at the Booktown Chamber of Commerce after a bookcase crushes her.

Summary

New York Times bestselling author Lorna Barrett is back in town—Booktown, that is—with another page-turning mystery. This time bookstore owner Tricia Miles and her sister, Angelica, put their own problems on the shelf to catch a killer who turns a bookcase into a murder weapon…

Cranky Chamber of Commerce receptionist Betsy Dittmeyer is done reading people the riot act. After she’s crushed by a fallen bookcase, the next item to be read is her last will and testament—which is packed with surprises. It soon comes to light that Betsy was hiding volumes of dark secrets behind that perpetual frown of hers—and one of them just might have been a motive for murder.

While Tricia tries to help Angelica—the newly elected Chamber of Commerce president and Betsy’s boss—solve the mystery, she discovers a hidden chapter in her own family history that rocks her to her very core. And with her ex-husband and the chief of police vying for her affections, it’s doubly hard to focus on who might have buried Betsy in a tomb of tomes.

But as Tricia and Angelica try to read between the lines, they need to watch their step…and make sure the killer doesn’t catch them between the stacks.

Fiction

General Subject
Mystery/Suspense
BISAC Subject 1
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
BISAC Subject 2
Fiction / Literary
BISAC Subject 3
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
BIC Classification 1
Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
BIC Classification 2
Crime & mystery
Library Subject 1
Miles, Tricia (Fictitious character); Fiction.
Library Subject 2
Women booksellers; Fiction.
Library Subject 3
Receptionists; Crimes against; Fiction.
Academic Subject 1
American Mystery & Suspense Fiction
Dewey Classification
813/.6

Author Bio

Lorna Barrett is the New York Times bestselling author of the Booktown Mysteries, including Not the Killing Type and Murder on the Half Shelf. She lives in Rochester, New York.

Review Quotes

Praise for the New York Times Bestselling Booktown Mysteries "Fans of Carolyn Hart and Denise Swanson, rejoice!...This first-rate cozy artfully blends crime, cuisine, and even bookselling in a cheerful, witty, well-plotted puzzler."--Julia Spencer-Fleming, Edgar(R) finalist and author of One Was a Soldier

"Lorna Barrett's new cozy creation...has it all: wonderful old books, quirky characters, a clever mystery, and a cat named Miss Marple!"--Roberta Isleib, author of Asking for Murder

"A mystery bookstore in a sleepy New England town, a cat named Miss Marple, a nasty murder, and a determined heroine make Barrett's delightful debut mystery everything a cozy lover could want and more. Bravo!"--Leann Sweeney, author of The Cat, the Mill and the Murder

"Barrett is skilled at making her characters flawed and fully believable."--Richmond Times-Dispatch

"Tightly plotted and paced to keep you turning the pages, this series is indeed getting better with each book."--Gumshoe Review

"Charming...An engaging whodunit."--Publishers Weekly