Winter's Fire - Giles Kristian (Paperback)

(The Rise of Sigurd 2)

Dispatched in 10 to 20 working days
Price
235
No reviews yet.

Description

Norway, AD 785 - a vow of vengeance must be kept . . .Sigurd Haraldarson has proved himself a great warrior . . . And it is there - in the face of betrayal and bloodshed, on a journey that will take him all too close to the halls of Valhalla - that Sigurd's destiny will be forged. There, in the inferno of winter's fire . . .

Product Details

Barcode
9780552171328
Department
Books
Released
1 Dec 2016
Supply Source
UK

Book

Author
Giles Kristian
Binding
Paperback
Publisher
Transworld Publishers Ltd
Series
The Rise of Sigurd
Language
English
Number of Pages
420
Dimensions
198 x 127 x 127mm (368g)

Annotation

And it is there - in the face of betrayal and bloodshed, on a journey that will take him all too close to the halls of Valhalla - that Sigurd's destiny will be forged... The Vikings return in this thrilling, thunderous sequel to Giles Kristian's bestselling God of Vengeance.

Summary

A thrilling and breathtaking Viking saga of betrayal, bloodshed and brotherhood from the Sunday Times bestselling author of Lancelot, Giles Kristian. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Games of Thrones.

"Nobody writes this type of swaggering historical fiction better than Kristian" -- THE TIMES
"A belter of a novel...perfect for fans of historical fiction and fantasy alike, from Cornwell to Abercrombie" -- BEN KANE
"Combines gritty, brutal history with the lyrical essence of men as war...written with a panache that made the pages fly by. More!" -- ANTHONY RICHES
"I love a good Viking romp and these are really good!" -- ***** Reader review
"Giles Kristian certainly knows how to spin a yarn." -- ***** Reader review

***********************************

A VOW OF VENGEANCE MUST BE KEPT...

Norway AD 785. Sigurd Haraldarson has proved himself a great warrior . . . and a dangerous enemy.

And yet the oath-breaker King Gorm, who betrayed Sigurd's father, still lives.

The sacred vow to avenge his family burns in Sigurd's veins, but he must be patient and bide his time as he knows that he and his band of warriors are not yet strong enough to confront the treacherous king. They need silver; they need more fighters to rally to the young Viking's banner; they need to win fame upon the battlefield.

And so the fellowship venture to Sweden, to fight as mercenaries. And it is there - in the face of betrayal and bloodshed, on a journey that will take him all too close to the halls of Valhalla - that Sigurd's destiny will be forged...

The Vikings return in this thrilling, thunderous sequel to Giles Kristian's bestselling God of Vengeance. Sigurd's adventures continue in Wing's of the Storm.

Fiction

General Subject
Fiction
BISAC Subject 1
Fiction / War & Military
BISAC Subject 2
Fiction / Historical
BISAC Subject 3
Fiction / Fantasy / Epic
BIC Classification 3
Historical fiction
BIC Classification 4
Battles & campaigns
Dewey Classification
823.92
Readership
General (US: Trade)

Author Bio

Family history (he is half Norwegian) and a passion for the fiction of Bernard Cornwell inspired GILES KRISTIAN to write. Set in the Viking world, his bestselling `Raven' and `The Rise of Sigurd' trilogies have been acclaimed by his peers, reviewers and readers alike. The novels The Bleeding Land and
Brothers' Fury tell the story of a family torn apart by the English Civil War, and he co-wrote Wilbur Smith's No.1 bestseller, Golden Lion. In his new novel, Lancelot, Giles plunges into the rich and swirling waters of our greatest island 'history': the Arthurian legend. Giles Kristian lives in Leicestershire.