Ramona Blue - Julie Murphy (Hardcover)

Dispatched in 10 to 20 working days
Price
371
No reviews yet.

Product Details

Barcode
9780062418357
Department
Books
Released
9 May 2017
Supply Source
UK

Book

Author
Julie Murphy
Binding
Hardcover
Publisher
Balzer & Bray
Language
English
Number of Pages
336
Dimensions
210 x 140mm

Annotation

  • Struggling with family problems and still living in a FEMA trailer years after Hurricane Katrina, lesbian teenager Ramona welcomes the return of her childhood friend Freddie but her shifting feelings for him cause her to question her sexual identity.
  • Struggling with the loss of her home and her dysfunctional family after Hurricane Katrina, gay teen Ramona finds solace in a new swimming hobby while developing confusing feelings for a boy who challenges her perceptions. By the best-selling author of Dumplin'. Simultaneous eBook. 150,000 first printing.

Summary

The fourth novel from Julie Murphy, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin&;&;now a Netflix feature film starring Danielle Macdonald and Jennifer Aniston, with a soundtrack by Dolly Parton!

For fans of Rainbow Rowell and Morgan Matson, Julie Murphy has created another fearless heroine, Ramona Blue, in a gorgeously evocative novel about family, friendship, and how sometimes love can be more fluid than you first think.

Ramona was only five years old when Hurricane Katrina changed her life forever.

Since then, it&;s been Ramona and her family against the world. Standing over six feet tall with unmistakable blue hair, Ramona is sure of three things: she likes girls, she&;s fiercely devoted to her family, and she knows she&;s destined for something bigger than the trailer she calls home in Eulogy, Mississippi.

But juggling multiple jobs, her flaky mom, and her well-meaning but ineffectual dad forces her to be the adult of the family. Now, with her sister, Hattie, pregnant, responsibility weighs more heavily than ever.

The return of her childhood friend Freddie brings a welcome distraction. Ramona&;s friendship with the former competitive swimmer picks up exactly where it left off, and soon he&;s talked her into joining him for laps at the pool.

But as Ramona falls in love with swimming, her feelings for Freddie begin to shift too, which is the last thing she expected. With her growing affection for Freddie making her question her sexual identity, Ramona begins to wonder if perhaps she likes girls and guys or if this new attraction is just a fluke.

Either way, Ramona will discover that, for her, life and love are more fluid than they seem.

Juvenile Fiction

General Subject
Juvenile Grades 7-9 Ages 12-14
Dewey Classification
FIC

Author Bio

Murphy, Julie: -

Julie Murphy lives in North Texas with her husband who loves her, her dog who adores her, and her cats who tolerate her. After several wonderful years in the library world, Julie now writes full-time. When she's not writing or reliving her reference desk glory days, she can be found watching made-for-TV movies, hunting for the perfect slice of cheese pizza, and planning her next great travel adventure. She is also the author of the young adult novels Dumplin' (now a film on Netflix), Puddin', Ramona Blue, and Side Effects May Vary. You can visit Julie at www.juliemurphywrites.com.