Shadow Wolf - Kathryn Lasky (Paperback)

Dispatched in 20 to 30 working days
R 195
No reviews yet.

Product Details

1 Nov 2011
Supply Source


Kathryn Lasky
Scholastic Paperbacks
Wolves of the Beyond
Number of Pages
203 x 140 x 19mm (181g)


  • Returning to his clan as a lowest-ranking pack member, disabled wolf pup Faolan is targeted by a jealous peer and framed for a murder that forces him to identify the true culprit in order to clear his name and earn the status of a full-ranking wolf. Original.
  • After earning the right to return to the wolf pack that abandoned him, the exiled Faolan joins the clan as a lowly "gnaw wolf," but his goal of rising in the pack order is threatened when a jealous rival frames him for an unspeakable crime.


From bestselling author Kathryn Lasky comes the second book in WOLVES OF THE BEYOND, a stunning new spinoff from her legendary owl series, Guardians of Ga'hoole.
The wolf pup Faolan was born with a twisted paw, a slight defect that caused his wolf clan to abandon him in the forest to die. But Faolan, with the help of the grizzly bear who raised him as her own, survived.

Now he's made it back to his clan as a gnaw wolf, the lowest ranking pack member. And the hardships are just beginning. Another gnaw wolf, Heep, is jealous of Faolan and sets him up for failure. As if these humiliations are not enough, Faolon is framed for the murder of a wolf pup. Can Faolan catch the culprit in time and prove he deserves to be a full member of the clan?

Juvenile Fiction

General Subject
Juvenile Grades 4-6 Ages 9-11
BISAC Subject 1
Juvenile Fiction / Animals / Wolves & Coyotes
BISAC Subject 2
Juvenile Fiction / Nature & the Natural World / General (see also headings under Animals)
BISAC Subject 3
Juvenile Fiction / Legends, Myths, Fables / General
BISAC Subject 4
Juvenile Fiction / Animals / Wolves & Coyotes
BIC Classification 1
Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage)
Library Subject 1
Wolves; Fiction.
Library Subject 2
Library Subject 3
Academic Subject 1
Children's Fiction / Fantasy
Academic Subject 2
Lasky, Kathryn
Dewey Classification

Author Bio

Kathryn Lasky is the Newbery Honor-winning author of over one hundred books for children and young adults. Her beloved Guardians of Ga'Hoole fantasy series has sold more than 4 million copies, and she is the author of the Daughters of the Sea series, the Wolves of the Beyond series, as well as A TIME FOR COURAGE and other Dear America titles. Kathryn has also written a number of critically acclaimed nonfiction titles, such as BEYOND THE BURNING TIME and TRUE NORTH. She lives with her husband in Cambridge, MA.

Review Quotes

Praise for the first book in the Wolves of the Beyond series: "This is a soulful, searching read consumed with the spiritual journeys of animals and the ethereal connection between slayer and slain. [W]ith an invigorating ending that bodes well for the next volume." - Booklist

"The author builds a captivating world of forest, snow and volcanoes populated by intelligent animals and weaves a compelling story sure to bring readers back for the second installment." - Kirkus