Crimson and Bone: a Dark and Gripping Tale of Love and Obsession - Marina Fiorato (Paperback)

Out of Stock
Price
219
No reviews yet.
Raru User Review Competition: Write a Review and Win! 1 x R500 Raru Voucher up for grabs every month! Details...

Description

A dark, gripping story of love and obsession from bestselling author Marina Fiorato, for readers of Perfume, Sarah Waters' Fingersmith and Michel Faber's The Crimson Petal and the White.

Product Details

Barcode
9781473610545
Department
Books
Released
8 Feb 2018
Supply Source
UK

Book

Author
Marina Fiorato
Binding
Paperback
Publisher
Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Language
English
Number of Pages
320
Dimensions
198 x 129 x 129mm (220g)

Annotation

A dark, gripping story of love and obsession from bestselling author Marina Fiorato, for readers of The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock and The Wicked Cometh.

Summary

'A rich jewel of a story, full of desire and danger' - Julie Cohen. A dark tale of love and obsession, perfect for fans of The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock and The Wicked Cometh.

London, 1853. Annie Stride has nothing left to live for - she is a penniless prostitute, newly evicted from her home and pregnant. On the night she plans to cast herself from Waterloo Bridge into the icy waters of the Thames, her life is saved by Francis Maybrick Gill, a talented pre-Raphaelite painter - and her world is changed forever.

Francis takes Annie as his artist's muse, elevating her from fallen woman to society's darling. With her otherworldly beauty now the toast of London, her dark past is left far behind.

But Annie's lavish new life is not all it seems - and there are some who won't let her forget where she came from...

'A thrilling tale of love, lust and revenge' The Lady

'A captivating gothic blend of mystery and romance' Sunday Mirror

'Exquisite...this is historical fiction at its best' - Book Literarti Reviews

'Gothic, dark [and] rich with atmosphere' - Louise Loves books

'A glorious story of art and passion' - Tea Party Princess

'Dazzling' Goodreads Reviewer

'Captivating' Goodreads Reviewer

Fiction

General Subject
Saga/Historical
BISAC Subject 1
Fiction / Historical
BIC Classification 1
Historical fiction
Readership
General (US: Trade)

Author Bio

Marina Fiorato is half-Venetian. She was born in Manchester and raised in the Yorkshire Dales. She is a history graduate of Oxford University and the University of Venice, where she read for a master's degree in Shakespeare. After university she studied art and worked in the film and music industries, creating visuals for U2, The Rolling Stones and the Queen musical We Will Rock You. Her novels Daughter of Siena and Beatrice & Benedick were shortlisted for the Romantic Novelists' Association Historial Fiction Award. Marina was married on the Grand Canal and lives in north London with her husband, son and daughter. You can find out more about Marina and her writing at www.marinafiorato.com and follow her on Twitter @marinafiorato