Sea Witch - Sarah Henning (Hardcover)

Out of Stock
Price
339
No reviews yet.

Product Details

Barcode
9780062438775
Department
Books
Released
31 Jul 2018
Supply Source
UK

Book

Author
Sarah Henning
Binding
Hardback
Publisher
Harpercollins Publishers Inc
Language
English
Number of Pages
464
Dimensions
215 x 145 x 145mm (215g)

Annotation

Rendered an outcast in town after her friend Anna's death, Evie befriends a newcomer with an uncanny likeness to Anna and when the girls pursue romances with two charming princes, Evie has a chance at happiness until her new friend reveals a secret.

Summary

Wicked meets "The Little Mermaid" in the captivating origin story of the sea's most iconic villainess, perfect for fans of Heartless and Dorothy Must Die.

Ever since her best friend Anna died, Evie has been an outcast in her small fishing town. Hiding her talents, mourning her loss, drowning in her guilt.

Then a girl with an uncanny resemblance to Anna appears on the shore, and the two girls catch the eyes of two charming princes. Suddenly Evie feels like she might finally have a chance at her own happily ever after.

But magic isn&;t kind, and her new friend harbors secrets of her own. She can&;t stay in Havnestad&;or on two legs&;without Evie&;s help. And when Evie reaches deep into the power of her magic to save her friend&;s humanity&;and her prince&;s heart&;she discovers, too late, what she&;s bargained away.

Non-Fiction

General Subject
Juvenile
BIC Classification 1
Romance & relationships stories (Children's / Teenage)
BIC Classification 2
Romance & relationships stories (Children's / Teenage)
BIC Classification 3
Traditional stories (Children's / Teenage)
Dewey Classification
FIC FIC
Readership
Children / Juvenile

Author Bio

Sarah Henning is a recovering journalist who has worked for the Palm Beach Post, the Kansas City Star, and the Associated Press, among others. When not hunched over her computer, she runs ultramarathons, hangs out with her husband, Justin, and goes on absurdly long walks with her two adorable kids. Sarah lives in Lawrence, Kansas, hometown of Langston Hughes, William S. Burroughs, and a really good basketball team. Sea Witch is her first novel and is followed by Sea Witch Returns. You can visit her online at www.sarahhenningwrites.com.

Review Quotes

"Readers who gobble up every watery paranormal story will certainly enjoy this angst-drenched tale of forbidden love."--Kirkus Reviews "This enjoyable read will entertain and be a great fit for collections where fairy-tale retellings are popular."--School Library Journal "Deftly transforming a fairy tale into a richly layered exploration of culture and relationships, Henning tells the origin story of the Sea Witch from Hans Christian Andersen's 'The Little Mermaid.'"--Publishers Weekly "This spin on "The Little Mermaid" is full of plot twists and heart-in-throat action.
Fans of twisted fairy tales will find plenty to love."--ALA Booklist "All hail a new Queen of the Sea! Mystery, romance and revenge sweep you in--and there is magic on every page."--Danielle Paige, New York Times bestselling author of Dorothy Must Die "This book reminded me of the magic inherently present in the best kinds of stories. Mystery and wonder abounds in SEA WITCH, and I fell in love with Evie's sharpness and her strong sense of self. Prepare to be lost in these pages for hours on end."--Ren e Adieh, #1 New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author of The Wrath and The Dawn "Henning's dive into Little Mermaid lore is equal parts dark and tantalizing. Like the sea it sings of, this story has a strong pull. I found myself unable to set it down!"--Ryan Graudin, award-winning author of Wolf by Wolf