Astonishing Colour of After - Emily X. R. Pan (Paperback)

Dispatched in 10 to 15 working days
Price
152
RRP
R 175
(-13%)
No reviews yet.
Raru User Review Competition: 2 x Assassin's Creed: Odyssey - Collector's Medusa Edition's (PS4 & Xbox One) up for grabs. Details...

Description

Life, loss, love and art explode in a kaleidoscope of emotions as one girl must learn the truth about her family's past in order to bring peace to the present. For fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon.'Portrays the vast spectrum of love and grief with heart-wrenching beauty and candor. A very special book' - John Green

Product Details

Barcode
9781510102965
Department
Books
Released
22 Mar 2018
Supply Source
UK

Book

Author
Emily X. R. Pan
Binding
Paperback
Publisher
Hachette Children's Group
Language
English
Number of Pages
480
Dimensions
198 x 129 x 129mm (320g)

Annotation

New York Times bestseller. Life, loss, love and art explode in a kaleidoscope of emotions as one girl must learn the truth about her family's past in order to bring peace to the present. For fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon. 'Portrays the vast spectrum of love and grief with heart-wrenching beauty and candor. A very special book' - John Green

Summary

A New York Times bestseller.

'This brilliantly crafted novel portrays the vast spectrum of love and grief with heart-wrenching beauty and candor. A very special book' - JOHN GREEN, author of The Fault in Our Stars

Life, loss, love and art explode in a kaleidoscope of emotions as one girl must learn the truth about her family's past in order to bring peace to the present. For fans of John Green, Jennifer Niven, Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon.

Leigh Chen Sanders is sixteen when her mother dies by suicide, leaving only a scribbled note: 'I want you to remember'. Leigh doesn't know what it means, but when a red bird appears with a message, she finds herself travelling to Taiwan to meet her maternal grandparents for the first time.

Leigh is far away from home and far away from Axel, her best friend, who she stupidly kissed on the night her mother died - leaving her with a swell of guilt that she wasn't home, and a heavy heart, thinking she may have destroyed the one good thing left in her life.

Overwhelmed by grief, Leigh retreats into her art and into her memories, where colours collide and the rules of reality are broken. The only thing Leigh is certain about is that she must find out the truth. She must remember.

With lyrical prose and magical elements, Emily X.R. Pan's stunning debut novel alternates between past and present, romance and despair, as one girl attempts to find herself through family history, art, friendship, and love.

Juvenile Fiction

General Subject
Children's Young Adults
BIC Classification 4
Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage)
BIC Classification 5
Romance & relationships stories (Children's / Teenage)
Readership
Children / Juvenile

Author Bio

Emily X. R. Pan has an MFA in fiction from New York University and is the founding editor-in-chief of Bodega Magazine. The Astonishing Colour of After is her first book. She lives in New York, where she also practices and teaches yoga.