The Quest of the Cubs - Kathryn Lasky (Paperback)

Dispatched in 20 to 30 working days
Price
173
RRP
R 199.95
(-13%)
No reviews yet.

Product Details

Barcode
9780545683067
Department
Books
Released
11 Sep 2018
Supply Source
UK

Book

Author
Kathryn Lasky
Binding
Paperback
Publisher
Scholastic Pr
Series
Bears of the Ice
Language
English
Number of Pages
240
Dimensions
194 x 133 x 18mm (191g)

Summary

  • Perfect for fans of His Dark Materials! A gripping adventure where "nature, magic, and legend combine to create a world like no other." -- Kirkus Reviews,starred review
    For generations, the noble polar bears have ruled the Northern Kingdoms. But now, their society is on the brink of collapse. A group of power-hungry bears has seized control, and darkness is creeping across the snow.
    Cubs First and Second don't know any of this. Although they're twins, they couldn't be more different. First loves imagining stories, while his daring sister, Second, wants to live them.
    When their mother is taken prisoner, the cubs' world falls apart. They know they have to rescue her, but how can two cubs who've barely learned to hunt survive a treacherous journey across the ice? Their only chance is to learn to trust each other and -- even more important -- trust themselves.
    But survival is only the beginning. And soon, these two unlikely heroes find themselves at the heart of a battle unlike anything Ga'Hoole has ever seen.

Juvenile Fiction

General Subject
Juvenile Grades 4-6 Ages 9-11
BISAC Subject 1
Juvenile Fiction / Fantasy & Magic
BISAC Subject 2
Juvenile Fiction / Action & Adventure / General
BISAC Subject 3
Juvenile Fiction / Animals / Bears
BISAC Subject 4
Juvenile Fiction / Fantasy & Magic
BIC Classification 1
Adventure stories (Children's / Teenage)
BIC Classification 2
Animal stories (Children's / Teenage)
BIC Classification 3
Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage)
Dewey Classification
FIC

Author Bio

Kathryn Lasky is the Newbery Honor-winning author of over 100 books for children and young adults. Her beloved Guardians of Ga'Hoole fantasy series has more than seven million copies in print, and she is the author of the Daughters of the Sea series and the Wolves of the Beyond series, as well as iA Time for Courage/i and other Dear America titles. Kathryn has also written a number of critically acclaimed historical fiction titles, such as iBeyond the Burning Time/i and iTrue North/i. She lives with her husband in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Review Quotes

Praise for The Quest of the Cubs:
* Nature, magic, and legend combine to create a world like no other. -- Kirkus Reviews, starred review
Readers will lose themselves in the life-and-death adventure of the cubs and succumb to human feelings of fear, loss, and hope... They'll be waiting with bated breath for the next installment. -- Booklist
The text is rich and blends fantasy with a realistic setting...A series opener that promises to deliver action and adventure. -- School Library Journal
Praise for The Den of Forever Frost:
*Nonstop action, overwhelming odds, and a truly evil adversary will make readers clamor for the next installment... Proof that a sequel can shine just as brightly. -- Kirkus Reviews, starred review
Lasky's brilliant imagery of the fantasy ice world and her believably strong, determined bears won't disappoint readers. The final paragraph brings sighs and silence as the bears contemplate the completion of their quest in the series' next book. -- Booklist
Praise for The Escape: Horses of the Dawn #1:
As in works such as her Guardians of Ga'hoole series, Lasky uses animals to touch on very human issues... Complex and distinctive characters offer a fresh view of familiar historical events. A promising start to a new series. -- Kirkus Reviews
Lasky successfully fuses fantasy and fact as she gives her equine characters credible emotional depth and underscores the tension and disparity between Old and New World sensibilities. It's a haunting story of loss, self-discovery, survival, and homecoming. -- Publishers Weekly

Praise for Guardians of Ga'Hoole: Rise of a Legend:
* Lyze's story can easily be read as a stand-alone tale... Both thoughtful and action-packed, this adventure illuminates the fantastical world that exists between dusk and dawn. -- Kirkus Reviews, starred review