Raru Heritage Weekend Sale ends in:

Ultimate Secrets Revealed - Stephanie Warren Drimmer (Hardcover)

A Closer Look at the Weirdest, Wildest Facts on Earth

Dispatched in 7 to 10 working days
Price
270
RRP
R 340
(-21%)
No reviews yet.

Product Details

Barcode
9781426331831
Department
Books
Released
18 Oct 2018
Supply Source
South Africa

Book

Authors
Stephanie Warren Drimmer
Stephanie Warren Drimmer (Collaborator)
Subtitle
A Closer Look at the Weirdest, Wildest Facts on Earth
Binding
Hardcover
Publisher
Natl Geographic Soc Childrens books
Language
English
Number of Pages
192
Dimensions
301 x 232 x 18mm (302g)

Annotation

  • Provides scientific and background information on the Earth, animals, historical questions, space, the human body, food, inventions, and other remarkable subjects.
  • "The world is full of mind-blowing marvels and this book uncovers our planet's most peculiar phenomena, puzzles from the past, eye-opening inventions, astonishing animals, and so much more! "--Publisher annotation.

Summary

The world is full of mind-blowing marvels and this book uncovers our planet's most peculiar phenomena, puzzles from the past, eye-opening inventions, astonishing animals, and so much more!

Did you know that caterpillars liquefy when they turn into butterflies? That humans shed eight pounds of skin every year? That there's a funky forest in Poland where all the trees are mysteriously crooked? That space smells like burnt plastic? Our world is filled with strange, bizarre, and weird realities. But what do they mean? WHY are they important? And what exactly is the secret behind them?

National Geographic Kids presents a jam-packed new series perfect for fans of Weird But True! and 5,000 Awesome Facts. With cool, action-packed photos, tons of awesome information, and filled to the brim with the weirdest facts ever, this book takes readers behind the scenes of the world of the truly bizarre, to reveal the truth behind our planet's wildest and wackiest. Meet the bizarre bacteria that make Yellowstone National Park's Morning Glory Pool pop with radiant color, discover the mysteries behind the Sphinx of ancient Egypt, learn why the beaches of the Maldives glow bright blue, how tornadoes are so powerful, and so much more! And with Q&As with in-the-field experts, fantastic infographics, exciting stories, and more, this book presents a fresh way of looking at our bizarre planet. So, get ready to experience our not-so-secret world.

Juvenile Non-Fiction

General Subject
Juvenile Grades 4-6 Ages 9-11
BISAC Subject 1
Juvenile Nonfiction / Science & Nature / Discoveries
BISAC Subject 2
Juvenile Nonfiction / Curiosities & Wonders
BISAC Subject 3
Juvenile Nonfiction / Science & Nature / General (see also headings under Animals or Technology)
BISAC Subject 5
Juvenile Nonfiction / Science & Nature / Discoveries
BIC Classification 1
Animal stories (Children's / Teenage)
BIC Classification 2
General knowledge & trivia (Children's / Teenage)
Library Subject 1
Curiosities and wonders - Pictorial works - Juvenile literature
Dewey Classification
509

Author Bio

The National Geographic Kid is curious about the world around them, empowered in the face of challenges and responsible for others and the natural world. Combining these principles with the international educational heritage of Collins, this partnership is a natural fit for books that are funny, weird, exploratory, educational and loved by children.

Review Quotes

"My son loves these books. We started reading National Geographic Kids books when he was about six (he's nine now) and I can honestly say that these books have been instrumental in teaching him to read." - Consumer

"My kids love these books. Super fun and interesting." - Consumer