Christmas in July 2021 Sale Now On! ends in:

All That I Can Fix - Crystal Chan (Paperback)

Dispatched in 5 to 7 working days
Price
199
RRP
R 255
(-22%)
No reviews yet.
Raru Coupon - Get 5% Off Site Wide with RCC-WARM5 - Ends 1 August 2021 - T&Cs Apply Details...

Product Details

Barcode
9781534408890
Department
Books
Released
11 Jun 2019
Supply Source
South Africa

Book

Author
Crystal Chan
Binding
Paperback
Publisher
Simon Pulse
Edition
Reprint
Language
English
Number of Pages
320
Dimensions
210 x 140mm

Annotation

When his world starts falling apart, Ronney, who people know as the kid from the mixed-race family with the dad who attempted suicide, the druggie mom, and the genius kid sister, struggles to hold it together.

Summary

&;A superbly entertaining read.&; &;Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
&;Will win over teens.&; &;School Library Journal (starred review)

A teen boy&;s world gets turned upside-down when a zoo of exotic animals takes over his small town in this wickedly funny, heartbreakingly honest novel that&;s perfect for fans of David Arnold.

In Makersville, Indiana, people know all about Ronney&;he&;s from that mixed-race family with the dad who tried to kill himself, the pill-popping mom, and the genius kid sister. If having a family like that wasn&;t bad enough, the local eccentric at the edge of town decided one night to open up all the cages of his exotic zoo&;lions, cheetahs, tigers&;and then shoot himself dead. Go figure. Even more proof that you can&;t trust adults to do the right thing.

Overnight, news crews, gun control supporters, and gun rights advocates descend on Makersville, bringing around-the-clock news coverage, rallies, and anti-rallies with them. With his parents checked out, Ronney is left tending to his sister&;s mounting fears of roaming lions, stopping his best friend from going on a suburban safari, and shaking loose a lonely boy who follows Ronney wherever he goes. Can Ronney figure out a way to hold it together as all his worlds fall apart?

From acclaimed author Crystal Chan comes an incisive tale of love, loyalty, and the great leaps we take to protect the people and places we love most.

Juvenile Fiction

General Subject
Juvenile Grades 7-9 Ages 12-14
Dewey Classification
FIC

Author Bio

Chan, Crystal: - Crystal Chan watched with amazement at the exotic zoo outbreak in Zanesville, Ohio in 2011, where scores of animals--hungry lions, panthers, and tigers--ran loose around the county. That incident helped inspire her most recent novel, All That I Can Fix. When Crystal isn't writing, her passion is giving diversity talks to adults and kids alike, telling stories on Wisconsin Public Radio, and hosting conversations on social media. Her debut novel, Bird, was published in nine countries and is available on audiobook in the US. She is the parent of a teenage turtle (not a ninja).