Girls of Paper and Fire - Natasha Ngan (Paperback)

Dispatched in 20 to 30 working days
Price
230
No reviews yet.

Description

Memoirs of a Geisha meets The Selection in this stunning YA fantasy novel. Perfects for fans of Renee Ahdieh, Laini Taylor and Sabaa Tahir.

Product Details

Barcode
9781473692206
Department
Books
Released
11 Jul 2019
Supply Source
UK

Book

Author
Natasha Ngan
Binding
Paperback / softback
Publisher
Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Series
Girls of Paper and Fire
Language
English
Number of Pages
384
Dimensions
198 x 129 x 30mm (198g)

Summary

Memoirs of a Geisha meets The Selection in this stunning YA fantasy novel. Perfect for fans of Renee Ahdieh, Laini Taylor and Sabaa Tahir.

Each year, eight beautiful girls are chosen as Paper Girls to serve the king. It's the highest honour they could hope for...and the most demeaning. This year, there's a ninth. And instead of paper, she's made of fire.

Lei is a member of the Paper caste, the lowest and most persecuted class of people in Ikhara. Ten years ago, her mother was snatched by the royal guards, and her fate remains unknown. Now, the guards are back and this time it's Lei they're after - the girl with the golden eyes, whose rumoured beauty has piqued the king's interest.

Over weeks of training in the opulent but oppressive palace, Lei and eight other girls learn the skills and charm that befit a king's consort. There, Lei does the unthinkable - she falls in love. Her forbidden romance becomes enmeshed with an explosive plot that threatens her world's entire way of life. Lei, still the wide-eyed country girl at heart, must decide how far she's willing to go for justice and revenge.

Classification

General Subject
Fantasy
BISAC Subject 2
Fiction / Fantasy / Contemporary
BIC Classification 1
Fantasy romance (Teenage)
Dewey Classification
823.92

Author Bio

Natasha Ngan is part young-adult author, part yoga-teacher, part habitual nap-taker. She grew up between Malaysia and the UK, speaking Chinese with her mother mainly as a way to talk about people without them understanding. She studied Geography at the University of Cambridge and later worked as a fashion blogger, social media consultant and freelance writer. Natasha recently moved to Paris, where she likes to imagine she drifts stylishly from brasserie to brasserie, notepad in one hand and wineglass in the other. In reality, she mostly spends her time lost on the metro and offending locals with her French.