Adjustment Bureau (Blu-ray)

Dispatched in 15 to 20 working days
This item is allowed to be delivered during Lockdown Level 3
Price
55
No reviews yet.
Enter our PlayStation 5 Interest Poll - We have a DS4 & TLOU II Gaming Merch up for Grabs Details...

Description

Matt Damon and Emily Blunt star in this sci-fi romance thriller based on a short story by Philip K. Dick and set in modern-day New York. Determined young politician David Norris (Damon) is close to winning a seat in the US Senate when he meets and falls in love with ballet dancer Elise Sellas (Blunt). However, David soon realises that a future with Elise is not meant to be as the shadowy agents of destiny, who work for The Adjustment Bureau, become intent on sabotaging his relationship with her in order to keep fate running along its pre-ordained tracks. Can David defy destiny in order to be with the only woman he has ever loved?

Product Details

Barcode
5050582854145
Department
Movies & TV
Released
4 Jul 2011
Type
Movies
Format
Blu-ray
Genre
Science Fiction
Region
Region B
Language
English
Extras
  • Interactive Menus
Runtime
106 min
Age Restriction
12
Supply Source
UK

Movie

Title
Adjustment Bureau
Release Year
2011
Running Time
99 min
Language
English
Categories
Science-Fiction/Fantasy / Dancers / Fantasy / Romance / Romances / Science-Fiction
US Box Office
$61.1 million
Official Website
http://www.theadjustmentbureau.com/
Ratings
IMDb
7.0
Rotten Tomatoes®
71%
Metacritic
60
Synopsis
The budding romance between a rising U.S. congressman and a gifted ballet dancer is unexpectedly complicated by otherworldly forces seeking to drive them apart by altering the very fabric of reality in this high-concept sci-fi thriller based on a story by famed author Philip K. Dick. David Norris (Matt Damon) is a rising New York congressmen whose everyman charisma has earned him a loyal following among locals. One night, after suffering a crushing political defeat, David is rehearsing his concession speech in a hotel bathroom when out of a stall wanders Elise (Emily Blunt), who was hiding out from security guards after crashing a wedding. The chemistry between David and Elise is instant and electric. But as fast as she appeared, Elise has vanished, leaving David to wonder if he will ever see her again. A few days later, as if by chance, David is boarding a bus for work when he spots Elise in a window seat. Though he manages to get her number this time, David is terrified when he arrives at his new job and discovers a mysterious group of men performing an unusual procedure on his paralyzed co-workers. Informed by the imposing and sharp-dressed Richardson (John Slattery) that he has just seen behind a curtain that few will ever know even exists, David agrees never to tell anyone of their encounter or talk to Elise again lest his entire memory be completely erased. But three years later, when David spots Elise walking down the street from the window of a city bus, he can't resist the urge to rekindle their romance. Unfortunately for the two young lovers, the mysterious agents at the Adjustment Bureau are determined to keep them apart at all costs in order to ensure there is no deviation from the master plan drawn up by "The Chairman" for the future of all humankind.
Poster
Poster for Adjustment Bureau
Cast & Crew
Director
George Nolfi
Star
Matt Damon / Emily Blunt / Michael Kelly / Anthony Mackie / John Slattery / Terence Stamp
Co-Star
Meghan Andrews / David Alan Basche / Peter Benson / Sandra Berrios / David Bishins / Michael Boyne / Sarah Bradford / Fabrizio Brienza / Kyoko Bruguera / Kieran Campion / Sandi Carroll / Natalie Carter / Dina Cataldi / Johnny Cicco / Laurie Dawn / Joel delaFuente / Paul DiPaola / Mike DiSalvo / Jennifer Ehle / Peter Epstein / Venida Evans / Peter Jay Fernandez / Jim Edward Gately / David Gregoire / Brian Haley / Julie Hays / Don J. Hewitt / Hitchen, Gregory P. / Lauren Hodges / Kar / Florence Kastriner / Jessica Lee Keller / Laura Kenley / Donnie Keshawarz / R.J. Konner / Jason Kravits / Gregory Lay / Darrell James LeNormand / Lawrence R. Leritz / Christine Lucas / Phyllis McBryde / Leroy McClain / Shane McRae / Kirsty Meares / Susan D. Michaels / Wayne Scott Miller / Kate Nowlin / Pedro Pascal / Lorenzo Pisoni / Anthony Ruivivar / Sandhi Santini / Lisa Thoreson / Amanda Mason Warren / Brit Whittle / Bart Wilder / Rob Yang
Screenwriter
George Nolfi
Source Writer
Philip K. Dick / Author: Philip K. Dick
Composer
Thomas Newman
Director of Photography
John Toll
Hairstylist
Kay Georgiou
Sound Re-Recording
Roberto Fernandez / Robert Hein / Dave Paterson
Stunt Coordinator
G.A. Aguilar
Set Decorator
Susan Bode
Post-Production Supervisor
Jennifer Lane
Music Editor
Bill Bernstein / Nic Ratner
Visual Effects Designer
Cynthia Angel
Production Manager/UPM
Michael Bederman / Bill Carraro / Carla Raij
Photography
Macall Polay / Andy Schwartz
Movie Critics
Box Office
4 stars out of 5 -- "[B]oth a romance and a thriller, a vehicle that reunites Matt Damon with OCEAN'S TWELVE and THE BOURNE ULTIMATUM screenwriter George Nolfi, and allows the actor to work his considerable charm."
Pam Grady (28 Feb 2011, )
Chicago Sun-Times
3 stars out of 4 -- "Matt Damon and Emily Blunt have an easy rapport....Beneath its apparent sci-fi levels, a romantic comedy lurks here."
Roger Ebert (2 Mar 2011, )
Entertainment Weekly
"THE ADJUSTMENT BUREAU is the thriller as glorified philosophical videogame...It's directed with a wide-eyed spirit." -- Grade: B
Owen Gleiberman (11 Mar 2011, )
Los Angeles Times
"[A]n intriguing entertainment. ADJUSTMENT BUREAU's central concept is certainly ingenious..."
Kenneth Turan (4 Mar 2011, )
New York Times
"[A] fast, sure film about finding and keeping love across time and space....A witty mix of science-fiction metaphysics and old-fashioned fluttery romance."
Manohla Dargis (4 Mar 2011, )
Sight and Sound
"[A]n essentially lighthearted diversion, dotted with romance, much BOURNE-style dashing around and the odd dab of existential musing."
Trevor Johnston (1 May 2011, )
Total Film
3 stars out of 5 -- "Blunt is funny and anarchic, Damon is determined and disarming. The chemistry is perfect..."
Jonathan Crocker (1 Apr 2011, )
Washington Post
3.5 stars out of 4 -- "[A]n enormously entertaining speculative thriller....This is a movie of myriad genres and tonal gradations, including classic science fiction in the tradition of BLADE RUNNER and THE MATRIX..."
(4 Mar 2011, )