James Brown - Live At Montreux 1981 (Region 1 DVD)

Dispatched in 25 to 35 working days
No reviews yet.
Use Code RCCLOCKDOWN5 at Checkout to get an extra 5% Off Your Order - T&Cs Apply Details...


Soul Brother #1, The Godfather Of Soul, Mr. Dynamite are all titles that have been applied to James Brown over the years. A hugely influential figure in black American music, he was a driving force in the development of soul music in the early '60s and funk in the early '70s. He has had more R&B hits in the US than any other artist, and has charted singles in countries around the world. One of the defining elements of James Brown's career has always been his electrifying live show and his performances at Montreux give ample evidence of this. This DVD focuses on his choice as the best of them all from 1981. It's a string of hits from start to finish delivered with all the flamboyant style and showmanship for which he is rightly famous.

Product Details

15 Nov 2005
James Brown
R&B / Soul
Eagle Rock Ent
Region 1
Supply Source

Music Show

James Brown - Live at Montreux 1981
Release Year
Running Time
71 min
Musical & Performing Arts / Pop Music / Concert / Concerts / Live Performances / Music (General) / Music Video / R&B/Soul / Rhythm And Blues / Soul / Soul Music
While James Brown's unique vocal delivery and pioneering blend of soul, R&B, and funk have made him one of the most influential artists in American music, it's the Godfather of Soul's flamboyant stage presence that testifies to his stature as the hardest-working man in show business. This program captures Mr. Dynamite in his natural element with a concert chosen by the man himself as one of his all-time favorites. Brown's 1981 appearance at the prestigious Montreux Jazz Festival finds him at his tireless best as he whoops, hollers, and shimmies his way through raw and uninhibited live versions of classics like "Sex Machine," "Papa's Got a Brand New Bag," "I Got You (I Feel Good)," "Please, Please, Please," and "It's a Man's Man's Man's World." A bonus segment presents instrumentals performed by the band before Brown took the stage as well as two songs from his 1985 Montreux performance.
Release Notes
DVD Features:
  • Keep Case
  • Full Frame - 1.33
  • Dolby Digital 5.1 - English
  • 1. Payback
  • 2. It's Too Funny in Here
  • 3. Gonna Have a Funky Good Time
  • 4. Try Me
  • 5. Get on the Good Foot
  • 6. It's a Man's Man's Man's World
  • 7. Prisoner of Love
  • 8. I Got the Feelin'
  • 9. Hustle (Dead on It)
  • 10. Papa's Got a Brand New Bag
  • 11. I Got You (I Feel Good)
  • 12. Please, Please, Please
  • 13. Jam
  • 14. Sex Machine
Cast & Crew
Music Performer
James Brown