June Mid-Month Clearance Sale ends in:

Metallica - Year & a Half In the Life of Metallica Part 1 & 2 (Region 1 DVD)

Dispatched in 10 to 15 working days
(2 user ratings)
No reviews yet.
Raru's E3 2019 Video Games Poll Details...


2014 reissue of the 1992 video collection packaged in amaray case. Part 1 of a Year and a Half captures the band working in the studio for nine months on their Grammy-winning 1991 fifth album Metallica. Listen to Metallica jam on different versions of the new songs. Get it all: Mixing, mastering mistakes, making videos, manufacturing and features the videos "Enter Sandman," "The Unforgiven" and "Nothing Else Matters." Part 2 covers the saga of Metallica tours in 1991-1992. Includes concert performances from Castle Donington, Moscow, their first stadium headlining show (San Francisco's Day on the Green), the Freddie Mercury Tribute at London's Wembley Stadium, MTV's Video Music Awards, the Metallica/Guns tour, and highlights from the Grammys... add in behind-the-scenes jam sessions and daily adventures in locker rooms, hotel rooms and arenas around the world.

Product Details

25 Aug 2014
Blackened Recordings
  1. The Unforgiven (Music Video)
  2. Nothing Else Matters (Music Video)
  3. Enter Sandman (Music Video)
  4. Sad But True (Music Video)
  5. For Whom the Bell Tolls (Live)
  6. Enter Sandman (Live)
  7. Harvester of Sorrow (Live)
  8. Sad But True (Live)
  9. Enter Sandman (Live)
  10. Nothing Else Matters (Live)
  11. Wherever I May Roam (Music Video)
Supply Source

Music Show

Metallica - A Year and a Half in the Life of Metallica
Release Year
Running Time
236 min
Musical & Performing Arts / Pop Music / Behind The Scenes / Concert / Documentary / Hard Rock / Heavy Metal / Music (General) / Pop/Rock / Rock / Rock And Roll / Rock Bands / Rock Documentaries
After surviving through the death of a band member, a major image change, and quick succession of lawsuits, Metallica remains one of the most successful heavy metal bands in rock history. On this two video box set, James Hetfield and the boys invite their fans to join them for a year and a half. This candid video diary joins the rockers in the studio and on the WHEREVER I MAY ROAM tour and features extensive interviews, backstage jams, and other rarities. Highlights are the videos for "Enter Sandman," "The Unforgiven," and "Nothing Else Matters," plus live performances at Castle Donington, Moscow, and London.
Release Notes
DVD Features:
  • Region [unknown]
  • Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo
Cast & Crew
Adam Dubin


Artist Photo
Metallica is an American heavy metal band from Los Angeles, California, formed in 1981 by vocalist/guitarist James Hetfield and drummer Lars Ulrich. The duo first met through an ad in a Los Angeles-based music newspaper. At the time, Ulrich had little musical experience and no band but managed to secure a slot on an upcoming compilation record called “Metal Massacre”. Metallica’s contribution, “Hit The Lights”, featured Hetfield, Ulrich and lead guitarist Lloyd Grant. Afterwards, Ron McGovney became the band's bassist and Dave Mustaine joined the band as lead guitarist. This line-up would re-record "Hit The Lights" for subsequent re-pressings of "Metal Massacre" and would also issue several demos. In 1983, McGovney quit the group and was replaced by Cliff Burton, which also saw the band relocate to San Francisco. Metallica then traveled to New York after signing a deal with Megaforce Records. However, once in New York, the band fired Mustaine. It would mark the beginning of a long feud between Mustaine and Metallica, mostly fueled by remarks Mustaine would make to the press. Mustaine was replaced by Kirk Hammett of Exodus (6).

Metallica's debut LP, "Kill 'Em All", was released in 1983. It was followed in 1984 by "Ride The Lightning". This led to a major label deal with Elektra. In 1986, the band released "Master Of Puppets", which is considered by many to be one of the greatest heavy metal records of all time. In September of that year, while on tour in Sweden, the band was involved in a bus accident which took the life of Cliff Burton. Eventually, Jason Newsted (of Flotsam And Jetsam) was hired as the band's new bassist and he made his debut on 1987's "Garage Days Re-Revisited", an EP of cover tunes.

In 1990, Metallica hooked up with producer Bob Rock for a self-titled release that would become better known as "The Black Album", due to its cover art. Released in 1991, the black album would become one of the best-selling rock albums of all time, selling over 16 million copies in the US alone.

In 1996, the band returned with "Load". The following year, "Reload" appeared. The albums continued the band’s trend of more accessible music. In 1999, the group released an album and accompanying film called "S&M", which featured Metallica performing their songs with the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra.

In 2001, as the band was preparing to begin work on a new album, Newsted quit the group, citing personal and musical reasons. Work on the new album was further complicated when Hetfield entered rehab for alcohol abuse. The album, called "St. Anger", was eventually completed in 2003 with producer Bob Rock handling the bass. Upon its release, "St. Anger" drew mostly negative reviews. Following the recording, Robert Trujillo, formerly of Suicidal Tendencies, was hired as bassist. The making of the album was captured in the documentary “Some Kind Of Monster”.

In 2008, "Death Magnetic", produced by Rick Rubin, would surface and was hailed by many as Metallica's return to thrash metal. The following year, Metallica was inducted into Rock And Roll Hall of Fame. Former bassist Jason Newsted was present and Cliff Burton's father appeared on Cliff's behalf. Dave Mustaine, who was not inducted, was invited to the ceremony by the band but declined to attend. In 2011, Metallica collaborated with Lou Reed on the album, “Lulu”, which was largely panned by critics and ignored by consumers.
  • Cliff Burton
  • Dave Mustaine
  • James Hetfield
  • Jason Newsted
  • Kirk Hammett
  • Lars Ulrich
  • Lloyd Grant
  • Robert Trujillo
  • Ron McGovney