Christmas in July 2021 Sale Now On! ends in:

King Crimson - King Crimson - Eyes Wide Open (DVD)

Not available
(1 user rating)
No reviews yet.
Raru User Review Competition: Write a Review and Win! 1 x R500 Raru Voucher up for grabs every month! Details...

Product Details

12 Oct 2005
King Crimson
Content Source
South African
Disc 1:
  1. Introduction
  2. The Power To Believe
  3. Level Five
  4. Prozakc Blues
  5. The ConstrucKtion Of Light
  6. Happy With What You Have To Be Happy With
  7. Elektrik
  8. One Time
  9. Facts Of Life
  10. The Power To Believe II
  11. Dangerous Curves
  12. Lark's Tongue In Aspic Part IV
  13. The Deception Of The Thrush
  14. The World's My Oyster Soup Kitchen Wax Floor Museum
Disc 2:
  1. Into The Frying Pan
  2. The ConstrucKtion Of Light
  3. Vrooom
  4. One Time
  5. London Improv I: Blasticus SS Blastica
  6. Dinosaur
  7. The World's My Oyster Soup Kitchen Wax Floor Museum
  8. London Improv II: c Blasticum
  9. Cage
  10. Prozakc Blues
  11. Lark's Tongue In Aspic Part IV
  12. Three Of A Perfect Pair
  13. The Deception Of The Thrush
  14. Sex, Sleep, Eat, Drink, Dream
  15. Heroes
Supply Source
South Africa

Music Show

King Crimson - Eyes Wide Open
Release Year
Running Time
130 min
Musical & Performing Arts / Pop Music / Concert / Concert Footage / Live Concerts / Live Performances / Music (General) / Music Video / Pop/Rock / Rock / Rock Concerts / Rock Music
King Crimson are an enduring rock legend, their experimental progressive rock-tinged sounds still win over countless fans across the globe. Two full concerts are included on this release, proving their strength in the live arena. A mixture of improv and standard songs make up the two shows, one from Tokyo in April 2003, the other from London in July 2000. Tracks include "Prozakc Blues," "Elektrik," "Facts Of Life," "Into The Frying Pan," and more.
Cast & Crew
Music Performer(s)
King Crimson

King Crimson

Artist Photo
One of the pioneers of the progressive rock genre. The first official rehearsal of the band was on January 13, 1969. The first line-up comprised guitarist Robert Fripp, lyricist and lighting man Peter Sinfield (who “invented” the name of the band), composer and multi-instrumentalist Ian McDonald, bassist and vocalist Greg Lake, and drummer Michael Giles. They toured extensively and released the album , a seminal piece of late ’60s music. Shortly afterwards, the band split to reform again suffering continuous personnel changes for a period of two and a half years (early 1970-mid 1972), releasing three more studio albums and one recorded live, with Robert Fripp as the only remaining member.

The new King Crimson that evolved in July 1972 (featuring ex-Yes drummer Bill Bruford, ex-Family and later Asia (2) bassist/vocalist John Wetton and other more transitory members) marked a turn toward a heavier progressive sound, with experimental and fusion overtones, climaxing in unique semi-improvisatory live performances. This core line-up carried on until mid-1974, when Fripp broke up the band (as he thought) for good.

In mid-1981, after a full 7 years, a newly-formed band including Robert Fripp, with Adrian Belew on vocals and guitar, Tony Levin on bass and Chapman Stick, and Bill Bruford on acoustic and electronic drums, changed its name from Discipline to King Crimson. This line-up remained intact until summer 1984, releasing three studio albums.

Ten years later (May 1994), King Crimson started rehearsing again, this time as a "double trio" including Pat Mastelotto on drums and percussion and Trey Gunn on Stick in addition to the 1980s line-up; it released two full albums and a handful of EPs through Fripp's own Discipline Global Mobile label. A process of “fractalization” led to the creation of multiple spin-off groups containing three or four King Crimson members, dubbed "ProjeKcts" One, Two, Three, Four, and X, which released live and studio sessions through DGM. Having regained the rights to the full King Crimson catalogue, DGM put out numerous other recordings from all periods of the band's existence, including "King Crimson Collectors' Club" bi-monthly releases available only to members of the label's website. In the hands of DGM, the King Crimson back catalogue (with most late additions available only on FLAC/MP3 format rather than on CD) grew enormously, making it one of the biggest for any rock group ever.

The next reincarnation of the band, jokingly dubbed the "double duo", omitted Bill Bruford and Tony Levin. Its first complete studio album was “The ConstruKction of Light” (May 2000), and the line-up carried on until the end of 2003. Since then, Tony Levin rejoined the group and Trey Gunn departed. In 2008, with the addition of Gavin Harrison the new King Crimson began performing again.

Robert Fripp stated in an August 2012 interview that he had retired from the music business, but 2014 found a new King Crimson line-up touring, including Fripp (guitar), Mel Collins (saxophones, flute), Tony Levin (basses, stick), Pat Mastelotto (drums, percussion), Gavin Harrison (drums, percussion), Jakko M. Jakszyk (vocals, guitar, flute), and William Rieflin (drums, percussion, synthesiser).
  • Adrian Belew
  • Andy McCulloch
  • Bill Bruford
  • Boz Burrell
  • David Cross
  • Gavin Harrison
  • Gordon Haskell
  • Greg Lake
  • Ian McDonald
  • Ian Wallace
  • Jakko M. Jakszyk
  • Jamie Muir
  • John Wetton
  • Keith Tippett
  • Mel Collins
  • Michael Giles
  • Pat Mastelotto
  • Peter Sinfield
  • Robert Fripp
  • Tony Levin
  • Trey Gunn
  • William Rieflin