Amon Amarth - Jomsviking (CD)

Dispatched in 25 to 35 working days
No reviews yet.
Raru Books Poll - Two Book Bundles up for Grabs Details...

Product Details

4 Jan 2016
Amon Amarth
Audio CD
Metal & Hard Rock
  1. First Kill4:21
  2. Wanderer4:43
  3. On A Sea Of Blood4:05
  4. One Against All3:38
  5. Raise Your Horns4:24
  6. The Way Of Vikings5:11
  7. At Dawn's First Light3:51
  8. One Thousand Burning Arrows5:50
  9. Vengeance Is My Name4:42
  10. A Dream That Cannot Be 4:23
  11. Back On Northern Shores7:09
Amon Amarth - First Kill (Videoclip)
Published 4 years ago by amonamarthVEVO
Duration: 04:56
Official Licensed Video
Amon Amarth - At Dawn's First Light
Published 4 years ago by amonamarthVEVO
Duration: 04:17
Official Licensed Video
Supply Source

Amon Amarth

Artist Photo
The band started out as a grindcore band called Scum in 1989 formed by members Themgoroth (vocals), Olavi Mikkonen (guitar) and Ted Lundström (bass). Themgoroth eventually left the band and was replaced by Johan Hegg which also resulted in a muscial change towards Death/Viking Metal. Anders Hansson (guitar) and Nico Mehra (drums) joined the band and they then finally changed name to Amon Amarth, which is taken from Tolkien's famous Lord of the Ring trilogy and means the mighty mountain of doom, in 1992.

In 1993 the band entered Lagret Studio to record the never released demo, "Thor Arise". In March 1994 the band once again entered the same studio to record the demo "Arrival of the Fimbul Winter". Much more satisfied with the sound and production they released it. The 1000 copies quickly sold out and they even got a one-deal record with Singapore's Pulverised Records. In November 1995 the band entered Abyss Studio and recorded the MCD "Sorrow Throughout the Nine Worlds" and released it 1996. Shortly after their drummer Nico Mehra left the band but was replaced by Martin López of Opeth.

The band was signed to Metal Blade and once again they entered Abyss Studio to record their first full-length album "Once Sent from the Golden Hall". It was released in 1998. After this recording guitarist Anders Hansson was replaced by Johan Söderberg and a month later they went on a tour with Deicide, Six Feet Under and Brutal Truth. Martín López then left the band and was replaced by Fredrik Andersson. In 1999 "The Avenger" was recorded and released. In November 2000 the band entered The Abyss Studio for the last time and recorded "The Crusher" and released it 2001. This release gave Amon Amarth the opportunity to tour a lot more and right after the recording they went on their first headlining tour through Denmark and Germany with Purgatory and Seirim.

A lot of more tours followed and in 2002 "Versus the World" was recorded and released.
  • Anders Hansson
  • Fredrik Andersson
  • Johan Hegg
  • Johan Söderberg
  • Martin Lopez
  • Nico Kaukinen
  • Olavi Mikkonen
  • Ted Lundström